Promoting Diversity in Asia-Pacific

2019-10-23

Saint-Gobain Asia-Pacific Region conducted a half-day workshop on October 17th, at the occasion of the publication of the book “How Chinese Women Rise” which is sponsored by Saint-Gobain. With the participation of about 25 top executives from all businesses in China the workshop started with a brief introduction by Javier Gimeno on our current status on gender diversity and the target that has been set for the whole region.

1

The author, Dr. Bettina Al-Sadik-Lowinski, a trusted expert in women leadership research, shared her 5-year research results on career development of female Chinese executives in top management of multinational companies. Using the Female Career Model created by herself, she found that contrary to what people might expect, China has a higher proportion of women in senior executive roles than almost all other countries in the world. Through face to face interviews of 35 Chinese female executives, including several from Saint-Gobain China, she discovered that all these women executives have some strengths to make themselves different, they are mostly: team player, change agent, high performer, powerful and motivated, positive about competition, global mindset, mobile, flexible and adaptable etc…  She expects that these successful Chinese women and their career experiences can serve as role models for women around the world.

1

The brain storming session provided a good opportunity for our top executives to discuss together on how to drive diversity in their respective business. Encouragement, engagement, mentoring, showcasing, working together etc… are the keywords defined to create proper conditions to attract and retain best female talents. A short term simple and achievable action plan has been done by every participant as their takeaway of this workshop.

Just as indicated by Javier during the opening: Gender diversity is not only a matter of ethics and social responsibility, it’s also a question of business efficiency as is proven that equality gender organizations are better than mono-gender companies both in terms of growth and profitability.  

TM-QUANTUM
1688.com-Saint Gobain

促进女性职业发展 实现圣戈班亚太性别平衡

2019年10月23日

10月17日,在圣戈班赞助图书《中国女性崛起》出版之际,圣戈班亚太举行了半日研讨会,来自各业务部的25名高管参加了研讨会。圣戈班集团高级副总裁兼亚太区首席执行官孟昊文在开场中介绍了圣戈班亚太在职场性别平衡方面的现状,并设定了提升性别平衡的目标。

1

《中国女性崛起》的作者Bettina Al-Sadik-Lowinski博士作为女性领导力研究领域值得信赖的专家,分享了自己5年来对跨国公司的中国女性高管职业发展的研究成果。通过她自创的女性职业发展模式,她意外地发现中国女性高管比例高过几乎所有其他国家。与35名中国女性高管(包括来自圣戈班中国的几位)的面对面采访,她发现所有这些女性高管都表现出了一些与众不同的优势,她们基本都善于团队合作、积极推动变革、业绩出色、内心强大、极富驱动力、积极面对竞争、拥有全球视野、可调动、灵活、适应力强等……她希望这些成功的中国女性及其职业经历能够成为世界各地女性的榜样。

1

在研讨会中的头脑风暴环节,高管们共同讨论了如何在各自的业务中推动性别平衡。鼓励、参与、辅导、示范、合作等等成为吸引和留住优秀女性人才的关键词。研讨会尾声,每位与会者都制定了一个简单且可实现的短期行动计划。

 

正如孟昊文在开场中指出的那样:性别平等不仅仅关乎道德和社会责任,也关乎运营效率,因为事实证明在增长和盈利能力方面,注重两性平等的公司会表现得更好。

 

JD-SG
TM-QUANTUM
1688.com-Saint Gobain